top of page
Gabriele Stonyte Photography-4.jpg

2023 SERVICE to the CITIZEN® 
Award Winners

U.S. Department of Defense

Washington Headquarters Services


Tashona Beale

Customer Experience Strategist

Washington Headquarters Services

Mary C. Byers, PhD

Director, Human Capital Strategy, and Evaluation

Human Resources Directorate

U.S. Marine Corps (USMC) 

College of Distance Education

and Training (CDET)

Larry Smith

Director of Educational Technology

Marine Corps University

Defense Health Agency

Solutions Delivery Division (SDD)

Web & Mobile Technology (WMT)

Program Management Office

Robert Kayl

Program Manager

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Office of the Chief Information Officer
Office of Enterprise Services
Office of Governance, Strategy, and Policy

Kate Sweeney

HHS Section 508 Program Director

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Office of Digital Transformation

Joshua Lehman

Chief Customer Experience Officer and Director

Office of Business and Customer Assurance

Grants Quality Service

Management Office (QSMO)


Chad Clifford

Acting Director, Division of Policy Oversight, Effectiveness, and Training

Executive Director of Grants QSMO

Andrea Sampanis CGFM

Grants QSMO Solutions & Services Lead

Mary Beth Foley

Grants QSMO Customer Engagement & Governance Lead

Health Resources and Services

Administration (HRSA) 

Office of Communications

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Web & Emerging Technologies Group (WETG)

U.S. Department of the Interior

Bureau of Trust Funds Administration


The Federal Indian Boarding School Initiative Team

Margaret Williams

Senior Advisor to the Director 

U.S. Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division
Product and Disability Rights Section


Randy Abramson

Product Manager

Veronica Williamson

Product Owner

Kristin Stitcher

Attorney Advisor

Cindy Nelson

Web Content Manager

National Gallery of Art

Eric Bruce

Chief Experience Officer

Office of Management and Budget (OMB)

Office of the Federal Chief Information Officer


Noreen Hecmanczuk

Senior Advisor to the Federal CIO for

Strategic Engagements and Communications

U.S. Department of the Treasury

Internal Revenue Service
Information Technology (IT) Enterprise Program Management Office (EPMO) Information Returns Modernization

IRS Office of Online Services


The Transformation Team

José Vejarano 


Office of Information and Technology

Personal Pronoun Initiative


Kurt DelBene

Assistant Secretary for Information and Technology and Chief Information Officer


Veterans Health Administration (VHA)

VHA Innovation Ecosystem


Brynn Cole

Director, Design and Storytelling

VHA Innovation Ecosystem


Allison Amrhein

Director, VHA Innovators Network

VHA Innovation Ecosystem


Danielle Hagan

Diffusion Specialist

VA Medical Center, West Palm Beach, Florida


Saraswathy Battar, M.D.

Professor, Geriatrics, Florida Atlantic University

VA Puget Sound Health Care System


Dr. Greg Reger

Deputy Associate Chief of Staff

Mental Health Service


Empowering Innovation in

Recreation and Creative Arts Therapy


Taylor Hooker

Incoming Chief of Learning Engineering,

San Francisco VA Medical Center;

Entrepreneur in Residence Fellow, VHA Innovation Ecosystem

VHA Veterans Integrated Services Network (VISN) 8 Clinical Contact Center


Suzanne M. Klinker

VISN 8 Deputy Network Director

for Clinical Contact Center

VHA-Uber Health Connect Initiative


Indra Sandal, PhD, MBA

Chief of Innovation, Tampa Veterans Hospital

National Lead, VHA Uber Health Connect Initiative, VHA Innovation Ecosystem

Atlanta VA Health Care System


Kathleen O'Loughlin

Women Veterans Program Manager

Nutrition and Food Services (NFS)

Anne Utech, PhD, RDN, LD

National Executive Director (SES EQ)

Manager, Nutrition Field Advisory Board

Department of Veterans Affairs, VHA Central Office

Veterans Affairs Medical Center Manchester Conway Community Based Outpatient Clinic and Tilton Community Based Outpatient Clinic Tele Audiology Clinics

Dr. Nicole Carbone, Au.D.


Veterans Affairs Medical Center Manchester

Jane C. Michaud

Advanced Telehealth Clinical Technician

Jodi Witt

LPN Telehealth Clinical Technician, VAMC Manchester Conway Community Based Outpatient Clinic (CBOC)

Sheri Lamoureux

Telehealth Clinical Technician, VAMC Manchester Tilton CBOC, Tilton, NH

Veterans Integrated Services Network 23 Clinical Resource Hub

Virtual Medical Retina Clinic

Dr. Patricia Stepp. M.D.

Director, Technology-based Eye Care Service

Dr. Deborah Keenum, M.D.

Assistant, Technology-based Eye Care Service

Dr. Akshar Abbott, MD.

Staff Ophthalmologist VISN 23 Clinical Resource Hub/VHA Innovation Ecosystem Entrepreneur-in-Residence Fellow

Stephanie Weiss, D.O.

Retina Subspecialty Lead, VISN 23 Virtual Eye Care Services

Ophthalmologist/Medical Retina Specialist

Denise Waschick

Program Analyst


Perinatal Reproductive Education Planning and Resources (PREPARe)


Melissa Tran

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist for Perinatal Reproductive Education Planning and Resource

bottom of page